eatasianwest

Everything tastes better with bacon

In Bacon on February 27, 2011 at 2:48 pm

I read that our collective love affair with bacon is coming to an end. In fact, some food writers are saying that the whole pork belly-bacon obsession is over, and the new up-and-coming food is Korean. Well, I can’t really say that I wouldn’t love to see Korean food more widely available, but I’m not sure I’m ready to give up the bacon ghost.

I find few recipes that aren’t improved by the judicious addition of bacon. Two of my favorite cookbooks are Peter Berley’s Fresh Food Fast, and The Modern Vegetarian Kitchen. Nearly all of his recipes are excellent, and almost all of them taste better with bacon.

Last month, we planned a road trip to Salt Lake City. Only a 12 hour drive, but too far to go without eating. I generally find highway food dire, and can’t find much to eat, since I stopped eating fast food 10 years ago. So I had to bring snacks to keep us from getting all Donner Party and gnawing on each other.

I found this recipe for Cheddar Jalapeño Scones, and of course thought “that would be better with bacon.”

Cheddar Jalapeño Bacon Biscuits

2 cups all-purpose flour

1 tbs. baking powder

1 tsp. salt

8 tbs. cold butter, diced

½ cup heavy cream

2 eggs

¼ lb. sharp Cheddar cheese, diced

2 small jalapeño pepper, minced

2-4 strips good quality bacon, diced

Egg wash (1 egg beaten with 1 tsp. water)

  1. Preheat oven to 400F
  2. Saute bacon until crisp and brown. Add jalapeño and cook until soft, about 2-3 minutes
  3. Allow bacon-jalapeño mix to cool and then add cheese and 1 tbs of flour
  4. In another bowl, combine the remaining flour, baking soda, and salt. Whisk to combine
  5. Use fork or pastry cutter and cut in butter until mixture resembles coarse meal
  6. Whip eggs and cream together and then add to flour-butter mix, stir gently until just combined. Do not overmix
  7. Add bacon, jalapeño, and cheese mix, and stir until just combined
  8. Place mixture on generously floured surface and roll out gently. I used my hands to pat the biscuit dough flat, about 1″ thick
  9. Cut biscuits into triangles and brush with egg wash
  10. Bake on parchment paper for about 25-30 minutes, depending on your oven. My oven runs a bit cold.
Leave a Reply

